Pet Shop Boys are premiering the MK remix of “The Pop Kids”

Pet Shop Boys are premiering the MK remix of “The Pop Kids” with Mixmag, who call the song “a timeless combination of perspectives from both the Pet Shop Boys and MK” today. Acclaimed DJ and producer MK (Marc Kinchen) last worked with the band 23 years ago the remix of 1993 single “Can You Forgive Her?” “The Pop Kids” is from the duo’s forthcoming new album Super, out April 1 on x2 Records via Kobalt.
The track is part of a remix package available on March 18. The release, available via digital formats only, will consist of four interpretations of the song MK and Offer Nissim as well as deep dub versions by the band themselves. Please see full track listing below.
“The Pop Kids” (Remixes) Track Listing
1. Offer Nissim Drama Remix
2. MK Dub radio edit
3. PSB deep dub radio edit
4. MK Dub
“The Pop Kids” (Remixes) will be released on the same day as “The Pop Kids” single package. The song is aHot Shot Debut at #28 on the Dance Club Songs Charts and #4 Most Added on Billboards Dance Club Charts this week.  View the lyric video HERE. For more visit
“The Pop Kids” Digital Single Bundle Track Listing
1. The Pop Kids (radio edit)
2. In bits
3. One-hit wonder
4. The Pop Kids (PSB deep dub)
5. The Pop Kids (The full story)
“The Pop Kids” was produced and mixed by Stuart Price. The “PSB deep dub” and ‘”The full story” versions are remixes by Pet Shop Boys including additional vocals and, in the case of “The full story,” an extra verse which brings the story of “The Pop Kids” up to the present. “In bits” was produced and mixed by Price. “One-hit wonder” was produced by Pet Shop Boys and mixed by Pete Gleadall and is a new version of an instrumental track Neil Tennant and Stuart Lowe originally wrote in late 1981. They remade it in 2014 as the theme for a Berlin online TV music show, “The One-Hit Parade,” and this is the first time the full track has been released.
Pet Shop Boys Documentary,” a four-part series of hour-long programs, will be broadcast on BBC Radio 2next month, 30 years after the release of Pet Shop Boys’ first album, Please. The series will feature specially recorded in-depth interviews with Tennant and Lowe, plus contributions from key collaborators, commentators and admirers. Part One will be narrated by Graham Norton and will focus on the Please, Actually,Introspective, Behaviour, Very and Bilingual album eras. The second part, airing the following evening, will be devoted to Nightlife, Release, Fundamental, Yes and Elysium. The third and fourth parts of the series will be broadcast the following week and focus on PSB’s many creative collaborations and finally on the creation of their new album, Super.
Pet Shop Boys recently announced that they will play a residency of four nights at the Royal Opera House in London on July, 20, 21, 22, 23. All nights are sold out. Entitled “Inner Sanctum,” the site-specific concert series will be staged by longtime PSB designer Es Devlin and choreographer Lynne Page. The band notes, “It was fantastic to be back in the studio with Stuart Price continuing from where we left off with Electric and we’re thrilled with the results. It’s also very exciting to take electronic music into the Royal Opera House­—such a grand and beautiful venue. These will be four very special nights for us and our only UK concerts this year
Produced and mixed by Price in Los Angeles, the album was written in London and Berlin. The record features twelve new Tennant/Lowe compositions evoking the London club scene of the early 90s. Super will be available on CD, vinyl and digitally. more information visit
Super Tracklisting
1. Happiness
2. The Pop Kids
3. Twenty-Something
4. Groovy
5. The Dictator Decides
6. Pazzo!
7. Inner Sanctum
8. Undertow
9. Sad Robot World
10. Say It To Me
11. Burn
12. Into Thin Air

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.