Cracker Barrel Has A Tiger By The Tail With New Grascals & Friends CD

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store really does have “A Tiger by the Tail,” along with twelve other country classics, on the newest CD in its exclusive music program.  The Grascals, reigning 2010 Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music in America (SPBGMA) Bluegrass Band of the Year, teamed up with eight of their famous friends, including Brad Paisley, Dierks Bentley, Charlie Daniels, Dolly Parton, Tom T. Hall, The Oak Ridge Boys, Joe Nichols, and Darryl Worley, to create the crossover album. The Grascals & Friends – Country Classics With A Bluegrass Spin CD hits the shelves exclusively at all Cracker Barrel locations today.

The Grascals, fresh off of a year packed with over 150 shows, are in the running for 10 of the 37th Annual SPBGMA Awards including Instrumental Group of the Year, Vocal Group of the Year, Bluegrass Band of the Year and Entertaining Group of the Year.  In spite of their packed schedule, they took time to visit St. Jude Children's Research Hospital during their travels, and to write a bonus track “I Am Strong” for the album.  All of the artists who sang separately with The Grascals on the CD joined their vocals together on the “I Am Strong” bonus track.  In addition, The Grascals' new video, “I Am Strong” featuring Dolly Parton premiered in mid-December on AOL. Because of The Grascals caring spirit, Cracker Barrel is donating a percentage of the proceeds from the CD to St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.

“The Grascals never cease to amaze me with their talent, creativity and first-class performances,” said Gracie Muldoon, founder of “However, it is no surprise, that their hearts are as big as they are – with their contribution to St. Jude and sick children with the release of “I Am Strong.”  It shows the world that the representatives of Bluegrass music have hearts as big as their basses, as big as their talents.  The heart of The Grascals is there beating along with their music as they share their love for humanity of the weakest, no, make that the “strongest” members, the beautiful children.”

“The Grascals are steeped in bluegrass tradition and at the same time are in touch with their contemporary audiences, bringing authenticity as well as freshness to the music,” said Chris Ciavarra, Senior Vice President of Marketing for Cracker Barrel. “We are pleased to be able to offer our guests this unique CD as the latest album in our exclusive music program.”

The Grascals & Friends – Country Classics With A Bluegrass Spin is the latest in Cracker Barrel's exclusive music program, which features numerous projects. In November of 2010, Cracker Barrel released Smokey Robinson's Now & Then which features six of his current songs and live versions of six of his classics that were recorded last year. It debuted at #19 on Billboard magazine's R&B chart. September saw the release of the self-titled Rodney Atkins, which includes four #1 hits, and also released Mandy Barnett's Winter Wonderland, which offers up all the authentic sounds of the  holiday traditions so many of us cherish. In July, the company released Craig Morgan's That's Why-Collector's Edition, and in May the release of Wynonna's Love Heals debuted at #7 on the Billboard Magazine Top Country Albums chart. February's release of Dailey & Vincent Sing the Statler Brothers debuted at #1 on Billboard's Top Bluegrass Albums chart, where it spent nine weeks in the top position and 18 weeks overall in one of the three top positions since its release on February 1st. Releases in 2009 included November's Songs of Love and Heartache by Alan Jackson, September's release of an exclusive new version of The Foundation by the Zac Brown Band, August's George Jones' release of A Collection Of My Best Recollection, May's release of Montgomery Gentry's For Our Heroes, which debuted at #5 on Billboard Magazine's Top Country Albums chart, and March's release of Dolly Parton's Collector's Edition of Backwoods Barbie, which debuted at #9 on that chart. Over the last few years, Cracker Barrel has released exclusive CDs with Bill Gaither, Kenny Rogers, Ricky Skaggs, Aaron Tippin, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Josh Turner, Amy Grant, Sara Evans and Charlie Daniels.
Tracks on The Grascals & Friends – Country Classics With A Bluegrass Spin:
1.    Tiger By The Tail (with Brad Paisley)
2.    Folsom Prison Blues (with Dierks Bentley)
3.    Pain of Lovin' You (with Dolly Parton)
4.    I Am Strong (with Dolly Parton)
5.    Louisiana Saturday Night
6.    The Year That Clayton Delaney Died (with Tom T. Hall)
7.    White Lightning (with Darryl Worley)
8.    The Devil Went Down To Georgia (with Charlie Daniels)
9.    Leavin' Louisiana In Broad Daylight (with The Oak Ridge Boys)
10.  Mr. Bojangles (with Joe Nichols)
11.  Born To Boogie / All My Rowdy Friends Are Comin' Over Tonight (Hank Williams Jr. Medley)
12.  Cracker Barrel Swing (Instrumental)
13.  I Am Strong (Bonus Track) Featuring guest appearances by Dolly Parton, The Oak Ridge

        Boys, Darryl Worley, Charlie Daniels, Terri Clark, Randy Owen, Steven Seagal, Tom T.

        Hall, Joe Nichols and Ansley McLaurin