Inside Track on Music Row: Summer Edition

June/July 2021


Multi-Platinum selling band LANCO continues to forge new territory as the roots-frontier explorers and live-performance junkies announcing details today behind their new Honky-Tonk Hippies EP, available July 2 and their 30-city fall headlining tour by the same name. The anthemic EP was self-produced by the band, with each track penned by at least two members. The group traveled to the iconic Fame Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL, to record the new music, absorbing its heart-pounding and soul-shaking influence. Now set to release five new tracks fit perfectly for the road, all fans are invited to sign up for a FANCO membership which offers instant access to receive the swampy title-track at Their Honky-Tonk Hippies Tour launches Sept. 12th in Isle of Palms, SC at The Wind Jammer with Ross Ellis. Speaking of the EP, LANCO front man Brandon Lancaster said, “We tracked everything live with all our pent-up energy, and it won’t be long until we’re out there with the fans crowd-surfing to it.”


On the heels of his announcement to retire from touring at the end of 2022, multi-Grammy nominated bandleader and mandolin master, Doyle Lawson is set to release a new project on Billy Blue Records with his band, Quicksilver. Roundtable is the final straight-up Bluegrass Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver album before Lawson’s planned retirement from the road. The iconic roots artist and Bluegrass Music Hall of Famer plans one final Bluegrass Gospel album in 2022.  Roundtable was released June 25th. A new focus track from the project, “I’ll Take The Lonesome Every Time,” went to radio concurrent with the album.

“In preparing to make a record, there’s a good deal of time spent on song selection, and during the process, an idea for the title usually comes along,” Lawson says. “While driving home from the studio one evening, I was listening to what we had done up to that point, and it occurred to me that it was like a ‘roundtable’ recording. The idea [for the title] grew from the different lead vocals heard throughout the project.” More info and tour updates at



My e-book “I Know Country!” is available for instant download.  It features 366 daily country music Q&As plus lots of nuggets of knowledge about the songs, the artists and the songwriters. Check it out at   


The monthly Country Confidential podcast/broadcast hosted by Bobbi Dixon (Backstage Bobbi) dives into the untold stories and secrets of country music. Bobbi chats with artists including Scotty McCreery, Lainey Wilson, Restless Road, Laine Hardy, Pryor & Lee, Sacha, Brennley Brown, Adam Hambrick, Chapel Hart, Drew Parker, Drew Green, and more, about their histories, how the genre has evolved, and what country music means to them. You can listen to the first episode, “Singing Competition Roots” at  and check out a new episode every month wherever you listen to podcasts. Additionally, a new episode of the weekly All Country News podcast hosted by Rebecca Porter (Maren’s Girls, Women of Country Edits) is released every Tuesday, and the monthly Trivia Night hosted by Betsy Spina (SXM The Highway, Radio Disney Country, Celebrate People Podcast) takes place the first Saturday night of every month to quiz country music fans on the All Country News Instagram Story (@allcountrynews). 


When it comes to the road, nobody understands hard driving like Big Machine Label Group founder and chairman Scott Borchetta. The longtime racer, NASCAR team owner, IndyCar sponsor and race historian loves the feel of the asphalt in a way that transcends transportation. When Jonathan Hensleigh, the writer and director of Netflix’s The Ice Road wanted a label to deliver a multi-genre film soundtrack, he knew that Big Machine was the only choice. The Ice Road, an action thriller starring Liam Neeson, debuted on Netflix on June 25.  With a bottom-heavy train-beat, Grammy®-winning Americana icon Jason Isbell kicks off the dozen song collection with Johnny Cash’s truckers’ truth “All I Do Is Drive.” The collection brings together Country superstar Tim McGraw (covering the Cars “Drive”), The Cadillac Three (on Dave Dudley’s 1963 No. 1 “Six Days On The Road”) and Mark Collie with Oscar® nominee Allison Moorer (the cinematic “All Coming Down”), Miranda Lambert on Hank Snow’s “I’m Movin’ On,” Carly Pearce with “Eighteen Wheels and A Dozen Roses,” L.A. Rats – with Nikki Sixx and Rob Zombie – on “I’ve Been Everywhere,” and more.   


Country’s newest male vocal trio Texas Hill released their Stabal Session live acoustic recordings June 25th. The 8-song collection shows off the band members’ musicianship, with Adam Wakefield, Casey James and Craig Wayne Boyd performing all instruments (guitars, keyboards) in an intimate live setting. The compilation, which was recorded at Dark Horse Recording, features stripped renditions of richly melodic tune “Neon Heart,” the “heartbreaking drinking song” (Taste of Country) titled “Four Roses,” and more.  Order Stabal Session (Live Acoustic) at

“These recordings are from our first live acoustic session as a trio,” shares Boyd, “and we really had some magic in the room that day.”

They recently hit the road again, selling out five of their first twelve shows in the month of March alone. Additionally, they also completed a weekly residency at The Nashville Palace for the month of April with special guests.  Each of the individual Texas Hill members earned a national presence as contestants on TV music competitions – Boyd and Wakefield on different seasons of NBC’s The Voice, and James on FOX’s American Idol. More info at

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Inside Track Summer Edition now posted - Nashville Music Line

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.