The Infamous Stringdusters Come to Nashville’s Marathon Music Works in Advance of New Album

Playing Nashville Fri., Mar. 29 at Marathon Music Works

On the heels of their 2018 GRAMMY Award-winning Bluegrass Album of the Year Laws of GravityThe Infamous Stringdusters announce their newest record Rise Sun, due April 5 via Tape Time Records. In a break from past tradition, the band conceived the album’s track listing before recording commenced, creating a compelling narrative that flows across the album’s thirteen new, original songs. 

The GRAMMY® Award-winning quintet — Andy Falco [guitar], Chris Pandolfi [banjo], Andy Hall [dobro], Jeremy Garrett [fiddle], and Travis Book [double bass] — wrote or co-wrote all thirteen songs on Rise Sun, enlisting the help of maverick producer Billy Hume, whose credits range from bluegrass to hip hop, and contributing co-writers Sarah Siskind (Alison Krauss), Kim Richey (Brooks & Dunn, Trisha Yearwood), and others.

Rise Sun was sparked by the feeling of wanting something better for the world—more love, more awareness, and more compassion,” says Hall. “It’s a message of taking care of each other, our planet, and ourselves.”  
Introduced by the high energy, banjo-powered title-track, and culminating with a heartfelt send-off with the track “Truth and Love,” the record sails into uncharted territory — moored by the group’s expressive patchwork of rock, jazz, funk, country, old-time, and more.
“The world is polarized. Everything is so extreme, and partisan politics have become a culture war,” says Falco. “This is a reminder of what’s truly important in life—seek the truth, find your love, look up high, and aim above. Our music gives us an opportunity to bring some light in a world that can be dark sometimes.”
Encapsulating 13 years, eight studio projects, and nearly 1,000 shows, The Infamous Stringdusters have shared the stage with artists like Ryan Adams and Phil Lesh, and headlined historic stages such as the legendary Red Rocks Amphitheatre and Roman Auditorium. Engendering a sense of impassioned fandom, the band has attracted a faithful audience that continues to grow. They’ll return to Red Rocks Amphitheatrethis spring, sharing the bill with Phil Lesh and make many festival appearances as part of a 40+ date tour that kicked off at the famed Troubadour in West Hollywood last night (full list of dates below). 

1. Rise Sun 
2. Another Night 
3. Planets 
4. Long Time Going 
5. Thunder 
6. Comin’ Again 
7. Somewhere In Between 
8. Carry Me Away
9. Last Of The Lucky Ones 
10. If You’re Gonna Love Someone 
11. Wake The Dead 
12. Cloud Valley 
13. Truth And Love 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.