Fairground Saints add Nashville to their Tour Dates; March 14th at Cannery Ballroom

Los Angeles-based trio Fairground Saints are premiering their performance video for the track “Can’t Control the Weather” at PopMatters; watch the video at http://popm.at/1p2xkHG.
The song appears on the band’s self-titled debut album—produced by Matthew Wilder (No Doubt/Christina Aguilera)—out now on Verve Records. In premiering the new record, PopMatters noted “Fairground Saints are on to something very, very good on their debut album” and went on to say “the end result is a quietly beautiful album with enough ambition to try new things.”
“Warning: Joining the group love affair is inevitable,” says The Huffington Post in a recent interview with the band. “In only about a year, they already have developed a polished sound and exquisite three-part harmonies…it’s apparent Fairground Saints know how to have a good time.” Read the full interview on The Huffington Post HERE.
The group is currently touring the U.S. on Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Gimmie Love” tour supporting her new record E•MO•TION. See below for a complete list of dates.
Band members Mason Van Valin (vocals and guitar), Elijah Edwards (vocals, guitar, mandolin, keyboards, Dobro, accordion) and Megan McAllister (vocals, guitar, dulcimer) met by chance. “We gelled quickly and started making music together right away,” says McAllister, “it was almost like we were already family.” The trio began getting songs together for their debut album and in 2014 landed a deal with The Verve Music Group/Universal Records to release it.
In making Fairground Saints, the band shook off all inhibitions in their creativity, taking a playful approach in writing and recording. This allowed them to hold true to their vision of creating what McAllister calls a “very love-driven album.” “There’s no filter on the emotion coming through in our songs,” notes Edwards, “they’re all based in visceral feeling, and the lyrics are as real as a conversation you could be having with an ex-girlfriend or boyfriend.” For instance, “‘Ain’t Much for Lyin’ is a song about being with somebody else while you’re dating somebody,” says Van Valin, “it was my lack of bravery to have that conversation with my girlfriend at the time so I put it in a song.” However, in “Turn This Car Around,” where all three members wrote the lyrics, you get both sides of the story. “It’s kind of that back and forth story where you get it from his perspective and then her perspective,” McAllister explains.

“If the upside of focusing in on something you don’t necessarily like about yourself is that other people might eventually benefit from it, then that’s all right with us,” says Van Valin. “Music has made me realize I wasn’t alone more times than I can count, and I want to put that back into the world.”

*with Carly Rae Jepsen 
March 4                                              Salt Lake City, UT                                    The Depot*
March 5                                               Englewood, CO                                Gothic Theatre*
March 7                                                    Tulsa, OK                                  Cain’s Ballroom*
March 8                                                 Lawrence, KS                                     The Granada*
March 9                                              Minneapolis, MN                              Varsity Theater*
March 11                                              Milwaukee, WI                     Turner Hall Ballroom*
March 12                                                 Chicago, IL                                                 Metro*
March 13                                                 Detroit, MI                                St. Andrews Hall*
March 14                                               Nashville, TN                            Cannery Ballroom*
March 17                                              Covington, KY                             Madison Theater*
March 18                                               Pittsburgh, PA                                     Mr. Small’s*
March 19                                                Norfolk, VA                                     The NORVA*
March 20                                              Baltimore, MD                   Baltimore Sound Stage*
March 22                                             Clifton Park, NY                     Upstate Concert Hall*
March 23                                              Providence, RI                                  Fete Ballroom*
March 25                                              New York, NY                                       Terminal 5*
March 26                                             Huntington, NY                               The Paramount*
1. Ain’t Much for Lyin’
2. Can’t Control the Weather
3. All For You
4. Church
5. Still
6. Gossip Land
7. Wish I Was
8. Until Then
9. Sunday Lover
10. Made to be Forgotten
11. Turn this Car Around
12. Somethin’ from Nothin’

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.