Inside Track on Music Row October 2020 Music News

inside track on music row by preshias Harris


My heart is steadfast, O God; I will sing, I will sing praises, even with my soul. – Psalm 108:1 


Songwriter, artist and acoustic performer, Allie Colleen, has announced an original concept project consisting of two singles simultaneously released which shares a personal experience of her journey to nurture and mature through a relationship with a longtime friend. “Best Friend” was co-written by Allie Colleen along with Dallas Remington, Scott Barrier and Cyndi Limbaugh Torres while “Road You Take” was co-written with Melissa Bollea. Production of the impassioned song project was brought to life by Joe Costa at Costa Gold Studio. As a flourishing artist and songwriter, Allie is aiming to present a range of songs to share what she is capable of as an individual and offer listeners content that fits multiple genres. The concept to share the two songs together came from vinyl 45’s having a side A song to reveal the tender lyrics that expose a broken heart and side B to share the journey of healing to the listeners. Both “Best Friend” and “Road You Take” are now available for streaming and download from   See also  


Keith Urban’s 10th studio album, The Speed of Now Part 1, dropped two days after he hosted the ACM Awards.  The 16-track project includes collaborations with Eric Church, Nile Rodgers and Breland, as well as the previously-released “One Too Many,” a duet with Pink that he performed during the ACW Awards show.  Ahead of the album’s release, Urban said his goal is to find the ‘third thing.’ The first two things are what he does and what his collaborator (such as the producer, the songwriters or his duet partner) does. The third thing, he said, is “the sum of the parts” where the result is even more that what he had envisioned.  Speed of Now Part 1 is the follow-up to his previous album, Graffiti U (2018). See the trailer for the album and more at  


Americana/country singer-songwriter Hannah Bethel has released her latest single and lyric video, “Memphis.” The video was premiered this week by Americana Highways and can be viewed on YouTube.   The single is available to stream and purchase at all major digital outlets at this link. “Memphis” was written by Bethel, her sister Wynter Bethel, and Gabe Burdulis. The single was produced by the team of Brad Hill (Maren Morris/Brothers Osborne) and Lalo Guzman. The psychedelic-inspired lyric video was created by Iris Dutour. The fun, rocking, mid-tempo opens with a slide guitar wailing over a scratch beatbox groove that sets the stage for Bethel’s tale of a couple whose relationship has hit a dull spot and the solution is a spur of the moment idea to break away for a road trip adventure to Memphis. “Memphis” is the follow up to Bethel’s critically acclaimed single and music video, “The House is on Fire,” that won first place in the 2019 Americana category of the International Songwriting Competition. More info at  


Fans of country superstar Reba McEntire have a special treat. Reba’s 30th Anniversary Edition of her iconic album, Rumor Has It, is available now. Originally released in 1990, Rumor Has It features four top 10 hits including the album title track, “You Lie,” “Fallin’ Out of Love” and Reba’s signature hit, “Fancy.” In addition, the anniversary edition vinyl includes a bonus track, a live acoustic version of “Fancy” recorded at The Ryman Auditorium, while the CD and digital versions feature that bonus track as well as a new dance remix of “Fancy.”   Busy Reba also has a new podcast, “Living & Learning with Reba McEntire,” exclusively on Spotify. More details at  and  


Jerry Lee Lewis was one of five legends inducted into The Mississippi Arts + Entertainment Experience (The MAX) Hall of Fame. Although Lewis was unable to attend the ceremony hosted by Marty Stuart, Jerry Lee Lewis III accepted the award on his behalf with his father’s sister, Linda Gail Lewis, who performed her brother’s major hits “Great Balls of Fire” and “Whole Lotta Shakin.’” The 2020 Hall of Fame inductees include the late Country Music Hall of Fame member Tammy Wynette, singer/songwriter Bo Diddley, poet and writer Margaret Walker (Alexander) and bluesman John Lee Hooker. The Hall of Fame consists of influential men and women that have had an impact on arts and entertainment and count their roots in Mississippi. Previous inductees include Jimmy Buffett, Charley Pride, William Faulkner, Morgan Freeman, John Grisham, Elvis Presley and Oprah Winfrey among many others. Jerry Lee Lewis found fame at Sun Studios in Memphis with hit records on the Rock n’ Roll and Country charts. Lewis, along with Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley and Carl Perkins would become known as the Million Dollar Quartet. More about the Mississippi HoF at  


For a record fifth time, Ashley Gorley has been named songwriter of the year at the Nashville Songwriter Awards. This year, the awards, presented by the Nashville Songwriters Association International and sponsored by City National Bank, are virtual after the pandemic made it unsafe to gather in person. Billboard partnered with NSAI to reveal winners in key categories. In an exclusive video posted at, artists including Dustin Lynch, Mike Young and Jon Jones from Eli Young Band and Chase Rice laud the ASCAP songwriter of the year and CMA Award winner. “If you get sent a song that Ashley’s a writer on, that’s the first thing you listen to,” says Eli Young Band’s Jon Jones. He further dissects what made “Love Ain’t,” the band’s fourth No. 1 on Country Airplay last year, so special. Among the 11 hits that Gorley co-wrote during the eligibility period that led to his win are “Catch,” performed by Brett Young; “Good Vibes,” performed by Chris Janson; “Remember You Young” performed by Thomas Rhett and “Rumor,” performed by Lee Brice.  More at