Jackie Greene Set to Release New Album, Premieres a New Song & Announces Tour Dates



jackiegreeneCritically acclaimed singer-songwriter/guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Jackie Greene, who has been hailed by The New York Times as “the Prince of Americana” and by All Music as “prodigiously gifted,” will make his Yep Roc Records label debut with the release his first studio album in five years, Back To Birth, August 21, 2015. The album is available for pre-order with an instant download of “Trust Somebody,” which premiered today at Wall Street Journal’s Speakeasy.

Recorded at Portland’s Supernatural Sound and produced by Los Lobos member Steve Berlin, the 11-song set features Paul Rigby (guitar, mandolin, pedal steel guitar); Damian Erskine (bass); Reinhardt Melz (drums); Jason Crosby (violin, string arrangements) with Greene stretching out on a number of instruments including guitar, piano, organ and drums.

“Musically, this record is kind of a return to the simplicity that I started with, although I feel like I have a much better idea of what I’m doing now,” Greene observes. “I think the lyrics are the part that’s really evolved. A lot of these songs are looking at the notion of a cyclical existence, and the sense that life goes in a circle.”

Back To Birth is Greene’s seventh studio album following his self-produced, self-released debut Rusty Nails (2000), Gone Wanderin’ (2002), Sweet Somewhere Bound (2005), American Myth (2006), Giving Up The Ghost (2008) and Till the Light Comes (2010).

Greene will be introducing songs from the new album on his “Back To Birth” tour, which will continue with acoustic and full band performances throughout 2015. Summer music festivals with his band Trigger Hippy, which Jackie co-fronts with Joan Osborne, are also planned.


May 16 – Pocohantas Live – Chesterfield, VA (Trigger Hippy)

May 22 – Summer Camp Music Festival – Chillcothe, IL (Trigger Hippy)

May 24 – The Ville Music Festival – North Lawrence, OH (Trigger Hippy)

May 29 – Discovery Ventura – Ventura, CA  (Jackie Greene Band)

May 30 – Firestone Walker Invitation Beer Festival – Paso Robles, CA (Jackie Greene Band)

May 31 – Great American Music Hall – San Francisco, CA (Jackie Greene Band)

June 5  – Mountain Jam Festival – Hunter, NY  (Trigger Hippy)

June 7  – Wakarusa Music Festival – Ozark, AR  (Trigger Hippy)

June 13 –The Palisades Bluegrass and Roots Festival – Palisades, CO (Jackie Greene Band)

July 3, 4 – SPACE – Evanston, IL  (Jackie Greene Band)

July 11 – The Ride Festival – Telluride, CO  (Trigger Hippy)

July 18 – Grand Targhee Festival – Alma, WY  (Jackie Greene Band)

July 22 – Penn’s Peak – Jim Thorpe, PA  (Trigger Hippy)

July 24 – FloydFest – Floyd, VA  (Trigger Hippy)

Aug 2 – 3rd & Lindsley – Nashville, TN (Jackie Greene Band)

Aug 6 – Gothic Theater – Denver, CO (Jackie Greene Band)

Aug 7 – O.P. Rockwell – Park City, UT (Jackie Greene Band)

Aug 8, 9 – The State Theater – Salt Lake City, UT (Jackie Greene Band)

Aug 22 – Full Tilt Boogie Festival – Pownal, VT (Trigger Hippy)

Sept 18 – Americana Music Festival – Nashville, TN (Jackie Greene Band)

Back To Birth Track Listing:

  1. Silver Lining
  2.  Now I Can See For Miles
  3.  A Face Among The Crowd
  4.  Light Up Your Window
  5.  Trust Somebody
  6.  Motorhome
  7.  Hallelujah
  8.  The King is Dead
  9.  Where The Downhearted Go
  10.  You Can’t Have Bad Luck All The Time
  11.  Back To Birth

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.