Jason Aldean congratulates "CMT's Country Countdown USA" host Lon Helton on winning the CMA Award for National Broadcast Personality of the Year.
Jason Aldean congratulates “CMT’s Country Countdown USA” host Lon Helton on winning the CMA Award for National Broadcast Personality of the Year.

Three-time 2012 CMA Award nominee Jason Aldean and CMA Awards co-host and 2012 Entertainer of the Year nominee Brad Paisley surprised radio professionals around the country with news of their CMA Broadcast Award win.

The announcement of the CMA Broadcast Award winners is the pinnacle of what CMA has deemed the Year of Country Radio. As a cornerstone of the campaign, CMA granted complimentary membership to every Country radio station in the U.S. as well as complimentary individual memberships to the general manager and program director at each station.

“CMA knows the importance of Country radio to our genre” said Steve Moore, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “We’ve spent 2012 highlighting the hard work of these radio professionals, and we’re thrilled to shine the spotlight on our best and brightest – the CMA Broadcast Award winners.”

Aldean kicked off the string of good news by notifying National Broadcast Personality of the Year winner Lon Helton during a visit to a taping of Helton’s popular “CMT’s Country Countdown USA.” This marks the sixth National Personality of the Year award for Helton who won the award in 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, and 2010. Helton holds the record for most wins in the category since its introduction in 2001.

Today Paisley followed suit by calling all Station and Broadcast Personality of the Year winners in the Small, Medium, Large, and Major Market categories.

The CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year and CMA Radio Station of the Year recipients will be recognized during “The 46th Annual CMA Awards,” hosted by Paisley and Carrie Underwood and airing live Thursday, Nov. 1 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

2012 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners:

National – Lon Helton, “CMT’s Country Countdown USA with Lon Helton” (Dial Global).

Major Market – Donna Valentine and Mike Mussman, “K102 Wakeup Crew” KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.

Large Market – Randy Carroll and Jamie Martin,“KJ and Friends” KAJA, San Antonio, Texas

Medium Market – Tom O’Brien, Roger Todd, and Melissa Moran, “The 97 Country Breakfast Club” WPCV, Lakeland-Winter Haven, Fla.

Small Market – Bill Poindexter and Melissa Turner, “Dex and Mo Show” WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.

2012 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners:

Major Market – WKLB, Boston, Mass.

Large Market – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio.

Medium Market – WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.

Small Market – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Five finalists are selected for Broadcast Personality of the Year and Station of the Year in four categories (small, medium, large, and major market). The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement, and biographical information. Candidates for Station of the Year are judged on airchecks, ratings history, community involvement, and format leadership.

Three finalists are selected for National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To be eligible for National Broadcast Personality of the Year candidates must be syndicated, short-form, hub voice-tracking, and satellite personalities heard in at least three markets with a minimum of 40 shows per year.

CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the U.S. and Canada were eligible to enter. The entries were judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions. An aggregate score of the first round of judging and the second round, which is done by a different panel of judges, determined the winners. The international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP tabulates scoring by the judges. CMA Broadcast Award winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who receive trophies in 2012 are not eligible in 2013.

Full 2012 CMA Awards details, including nominations and performers are available at CMAawards.com, which also includes CMA Awards history, a searchable database of past CMA Awards nominees and winners, host information, merchandise, and much more. The CMA Awards Store has T-shirts, hoodies, hats, mugs, tote bags, and more official merchandise for fans to purchase online. Fans can connect with CMA online at Facebook.com/CMA,Twitter.com/CountryMusic (#CMAawards),YouTube.com/CountryMusicAssocPinterest.com/CMAworl,dand by downloading the free CMA Awards app available for iPhone and Android. October is Country Music Month. Learn more at CountryMusicMonth.com, and join the conversation on Twitter using official hashtag #CountryMusicMonth.

“The 46th Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer,Paul Miller is the Director, and David Wild is the writer. The special will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Chevrolet™ is the Official Ride of Country Music. American Airlines is the Official Airline of the CMA Awards.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.